Ludii Forum
Help with Oust - Printable Version

+- Ludii Forum (https://ludii.games/forums)
+-- Forum: Questions (https://ludii.games/forums/forumdisplay.php?fid=13)
+--- Forum: About the Ludii Grammar (https://ludii.games/forums/forumdisplay.php?fid=15)
+--- Thread: Help with Oust (/showthread.php?tid=242)

Pages: 1 2

Help with Oust - Michael - 11-08-2020

I know it is ill-adviced to code without testing often. But I am seldom at my computer, so I have written a .lud for Oust entirely on my phone (this is especially stupid, since I am using ludemes I have no experience with).

I was looking forward to trying to run it and go through possible mistakes one by one, but I immediately met one of those incomprehensible error-messages that consists of a lot of html code. So I was stuck immediately.

Would it be possible to identify what is causing the error message?

Edit: The error message seems to have been caused by the lack of curly brackets around "(to)" in
Code:
(define "NewGroup"
    (union
        (sites {(to)})
        ("GroupsAround" Mover (to))
    )
)

I have updated the attachment. Now the problem is that "CanCapture" doesn't work as I intended. Sites where a placement would result in a capture are not playable.

I’ll update this post as I figure out more about what is wrong:
  • "GroupsAround" seems to work as intended, so I no longer think the problem is with my use of (is Connected).
  • I think it is correct now. I used (do … ifAfterwards:) instead of my defines. 

RE: Help with Oust - AlekErickson - 11-08-2020

in (play) I commented out lines like this

(play
            (move Add
                (to
                    (forEach
                        (sites Empty)
                        if:(      // or
                            ("NoFriendlyAdjacent")
    //                      ("CanCapture")
                        )
                    )
                )
    //          (then
    //              (if ("CaptureMove")
    //                  (and